The Taming of the Screw

Broken saw screws, what to do? Especially the nice of brass split screw variety? Given that they were on the clapped out Spear & Jackson, I should just throw them away and put on some chrome Great Necks. But I just can’t. For some insane reason, I want to keep things somewhat original looking (given what I’m thinking about doing to the handle, this is truly unexplainable). After kicking some ideas around, I decided to just go ahead and make some.
This things are not simple and look like they were made with a hammer (nothing round or consistent), so measurements have a lot of slop. I don’t know what the thread started out as (it is possible that the saw is old enough that it predates thread standards), the threads are two messed up to measure but 8×24 seems close enough to work. Not a die I have. But a metal working lathe I do have.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The slope on the shoulder seems to be 20 degrees (I originally measured 30, fixed that later).
One thing I learned later is that the original screws didn’t have enough threads. Through dumb luck, I have enough thread, plus the relief gives me room for wood shrinkage.
Threads turned on the lathe, checking until I got a good fit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I moved to the mill to cut the shoulders, a file would have worked just fine but why have tools if I don’t use them? A square collet holder allows me to cuts square shoulders – put in vise, cut one shoulder, unclamp, rotate 90 degrees, clamp, cut, repeat. Remove, measure, cut some more (getting a caliper under the chunk is a pain).

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Cut the screw off the rod and dressed the head.
Did some test fitting and tweaking (this is where I went, “hmmm, that angle seems to be too steep”) and done, better than new. And it only took two hours. Yeah, two hours to make a little bitty screw. But in the saw it does look like a factory new replacement.  Better yet, that bent one busted as I was test fitting, that is how I know wood shrinkage wasn’t taken into proper consideration (the nut bottomed out and twisted off the almost dead screw). Oh well, I know what I’m doing now, it should only take me half the time for the next ones.

This entry was posted in Saws. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Taming of the Screw

  1. Pingback: Brooksbank backsaw rehab | ZK Project Notebook

Leave a Reply

