Just to be Different

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         Decided to use something other than Jatoba for the next handle (as on this saw). That also gives me a chance to use up some of the zillions of chunks of wood cluttering the place up. That piece of apple became too thin after flattening (why do I need to flatten a board before I carve it round? So I can use saws and planes!). Next up was some worm infested white oak, which turned out to be mostly sawdust fill tubes. If I could infuse it with resin, it would probably be pretty nice. That broke so I pulled out some Mystery wood my dad gave OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         me but it had some major fault lines that broke. Finally, a Siberian Elm that lost some limbs during a ice storm a bunch of years ago (and knocked out power for two weeks). The photo shows a squared limb and a slabbed limb. This is a fast growing tree, the growth rings are pronounced and widely spaced.

This entry was posted in Saws. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

