Flat as a pancake

Ahhh, this is what I like to see, a flat bench. I’m using two levels as winding sticks; yellow in front and orange at back. I had hoped to use a drum sander to flatten, and smooth, the top and bottom but that fell through so I ran one half through my lunch box planer and used hand planes when the rest was glued on.

Look at that grain pattern – I think I’ve violated every slab glue up guide line. There are some wildly differing growth rates (I think it is all fir except for the oak dog strip).

This entry was posted in Benches & things to sit on. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

