Wooden Miter Plane

I want a big honken miter plane to use on my shooting board. I dearly love Bill Carter’s metal mitres but I find metal planes really uncomfortable to use for shooting. My wood Gordon’s are comfortable but I think the 60º angle leaves end grain a bit ragged (and you have to really ram them into the wood). Bill Carter (scroll down a ways) and Phil Edwards both make beautiful wooden miter planes so I’m going to try and copy one of them. Bill wins the beauty contest but I like Phil’s bevel down design. Sooooo

A wooden miter plane made from purple heart. This will be low angle plane intended for a use on a shooting board. It will have really wide cheeks for good registration on the board and I’ll try and make it comfy to use with my fingers in its mouth. I’ll use a pin and wedge like on my other miter planes. I think I’ll use a 1 1/2” wide, 1/8” thick blade, which will be bevel down and bedded at 35º (which means the cutting angle is also 35º, which is about as low as it gets). The blade will have a 30º bevel, which will give a 5º clearance angle, which should be fine for end grain (Phil and Ron Brese use 38º for the bed angle). Somewhere around 10” long.

Here is the start of the plane. I’ve decided on a half laminated (1/2 Krenov style) construction. I’d really, really like to do a one piece construction (I hate glue lines) but I also really, really didn’t want to hand cut the bed and I also wanted a curve at the front. So I machined things from the side and I’ll glue on one cheek. I’ve swiped a wedge and blade from other planes to get an idea of what it will look like. It took me a half a day to get this far, which is by far the fastest I’ve ever gotten to this stage (the other two planes in the photo took weeks).

This entry was posted in Planes: Mitre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

