Hollow grinding on the cheap

I’m not a fan of hollow grinding, strictly on aesthetic grounds, but I’m also lazy and honing the big honking bevel on a 1/4” x 2” plane iron is definitely not my idea of a good use of my time. So, when I got three new irons, it was time to suck it up and spend some time at the grinder. Now, I can do a passable free hand grind a 1/4” to 1/2” wide blade but 2”? Not anytime soon. So, I need a crutch. I have a really nice Baldor grinder, with nice tool rests, I just need something that rides on it and holds the blade square, like a T square. So I made a T square out of 3/16” x 5/8” steel that clamps onto the blade with C clamps.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, I just push the rail of the T square against the grinder tool rest, lower the blade to wheel and slide back and forth. Very little thinking involved, something I’m pretty good at. I don’t grind to the edge so I don’t have to worry about burning that edge and I can be pretty aggressive. The result isn’t pretty (I need some more practice) but free hand honing is soooo much easier. (Ground on left, honed on right).

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

