Iron Maiden

All done. Went with a T top for the lever cap and finished it with lots and lots of polishing (the inside of the cutout wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be), lacquered the metal parts in the hope that will keep rust and tarnish at bay. The cap axle was coated with baked on linseed oil, polished the parts of the sole that you can see, something like eight thin coats of varnish (wiped on) (the flat sides are still coated with epoxy, which seems to make quite a nice finish), lots of messing around to get things dialed in (lots more finicky than I’d hoped), set the mouth to 0.004″ (sheet of paper, I usually use 6-9 thou), flattened the sole some with 220/320 on a surface plate (less than 0.0015″ out until the wood moves).
Went to town on a doug fir 2×4 (junk construction lumber is usually a real pain to plane and soft woods are different from hard woods) and some walnut (which was planed “up hill”, against the grain).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Planes: Smoothing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Iron Maiden

  1. Curtis Andrews says:

    I love the blog! While I enjoy woodworking I confess my interests really turn towards the tools and restoring/making them, although I don’t get a lot of opportunity to do either. That’s part of what makes your blog so fun to read. I’m curious how you learned the machinist part of what you do? Having my own mill and lathe for metalworking seems like it would be awesome, but I’m not sure how to get started learning machinist skills. Any advice you have on that would be much appreciated.

  2. Zander K says:

    Thank you for the complements! I like restoring tools, because I like tools, using old tools, it is usually pretty straight forward and I learn things. But I really like making things. I’d like to make more furniture like stuff but tools seem to come to me easier. I learned machining & welding mostly from high school (waaay back when shop class was a big part of school), some very talented friends, a few CC classes, books, the net (there are very good forums and videos out there now), and lots and lots of mistakes. [Intro] classes are very important to learn how not to dismember yourself. I don’t so so well at structured learning; having a project (but not a plan) forces me to learn all the skills to build the project. Then I’m motivated to research and apply. I make tons of mistakes on the “real” piece but I’ve also become quite good at fixing those screw ups, which is a pretty handy skill in itself.

  3. bob stenerson says:

    Wow! just discovered this blog. Great stuff. thx.

  4. bob stenerson says:

    What kind of word is that plane made of. Looks like Apple/fruit wood.

  5. Zander K says:

    Thanks for the comments!
    Close – it is Pear (the fruit tree). The pear wood I’m used to has much more orange to it, this does look like the young apple I have (such as I used on the Apple cabinet). It can from the Eastern US, maybe a different species than I’m used to here in the west (or else I’m all mixed up as to the woods).

Leave a Reply

