The wheels are still on

A little bitty mitre plane, part II. Same length but a wider blade (15/16″). So far, so good, no train wrecks.

I like this bridge a lot better, way more subtle: a rounded V stopped with lambs tongues. The paper the planes are sitting on shows some of the designs I was working on, didn’t use any of them, this one came to me as I was filing it.

Tails on the sole, pins on the sides, which makes it easy to make the body and sole as two units, they slide together (and apart) so I can adjust, clean up, etc as needed.
You can see the “gutter”/rabbit on the sole, I think I’m going to jettison that feature as it is a real pain to do the back curve.
You can’t really see it, but there are little “bumpers” down by the mouth that center the blade but allow it to pivot (to correct an out of square blade, or, heaven forbid, a out of square bed).

Now that the dovetails are nice and neat, I’d like to permanently assemble it but I can’t (unless I brazed it, as I did the front, bridge and ramp), the wedge might (eventually) lift the body off the sole (probably not, as there is enough slop/divots that peining would fill in the imperfections for a good tight fit but I’ve another plane that is lifting so I’m not going to press my luck). So I’m going to have to dovetail the dovetails, which, after peining (aka beating on metal and hoping only the parts I want to bend/move actually do move), I’ll have crimps holding the sole on and sides in.
On the right of the sole, you can see the line of the mouth, which hasn’t broken through yet. That is my hedge against warping: after peining, there is going to be some distortion, and as I flatten the sole to get rid of it, the mouth will open up, how much I don’t know but hopefully not much. By leaving the the mouth closed, I can remove a lot of metal before I start to swear.

Here is photo of milling the bed, looking from the back of the plane. It is hard to see in there so it is a bit of pain making the cuts. That is a ¼” endmill, the next step is to go a 1/16″ endmill so I can get squarish shoulders down by the mouth (yes, they are quite fragile but the carbide ones I’m using cut really well, even when I’ve got the entire cutter buried in the wall).

This entry was posted in Planes: Mitre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

