Joint stool in progress

joint stoolThis is turning out better than expected. Somehow I made the seat height just a bit lower than a chair, I was expecting it to be lots lower, that just was the length of the logs I used (urban white oak that was taken out and cut to long firewood lengths). In the photo, the legs look really bulbous, in real life, they don’t (to me anyway). What up with that?.

I cut the joints hammer tight, anticipating that they will shrink and loosen up as the wood drys but right now, just pushed together, the stool is bomb proof solid.

The legs were difficult for me, this is first time I’ve ever turned square to round transitions (second time turning anything longer than a chisel handle) and my turning really sucks. Time to do some book and video learning. At least I knew I’d probably have problems and [mostly] left enough room to smooth the whoppers off the lathe. Still gotta correct the inconsistencies in the beads.

angle piecesThat triangle (it really is square at the bottom end) was a huge aid when cutting the angled joinery (which I did on the tablesaw and mill (as a giant router)). It was a no brainer to make all the mortises and tennons the same angle and no brains is what I got when it comes to things like that. Speaking of which, drawing lines for everything really helped me visualize how things where supposed to go and let me make most of my screw ups with a pencil, instead of wood. Labels were also vital (and it only takes four, believe it or not, plus some arrows). You can see these by clicking on the pic.

The other thing I lucked out on was placing the aprons below the top of the legs, if I had made the long aprons flush with the top, either the side apron bottoms would not be in line (no big deal) or I’d be cutting off the tops of all the aprons. Looking the Joint Stool book it looks like it was common to run the short and long aprons at different heights (that or parallax error).
Addendum: Uhh, yeah, well, the angled aprons turned out to be 3/16″ lower than the straight ones. I didn’t even notice until I cut the tops of the legs. I left it like that because it was such a pain to plane or even hold it for plane-ing.

side     pieces

This entry was posted in Benches & things to sit on, Wood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

