Shaker table

A friend asked me to build her a set of wheels and asked if I would like to have the pieces of a table she had started in a beginning wood working class. Sure. Not really a style I’m into but lots of things to learn about.
complete

I think it is Alder, which planes really nicely, dents if you look at it cross eyed (about as hard as Poplar), bland (the top is the same stuff as the rest, just coated with BLO) and the end grain needs really, really sharp tools and doesn’t like routers or table saws.
Most of the joinery was cut but, unfortunately, cut as you would expect in a intro-to-wood-working class so I cut it all out, filled it in or shimmed and recut.
Now to figure out a finish.

This entry was posted in Benches & things to sit on. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment